Skip to content

The Alien is in my Brain

April 18, 2017

I get the impression that some people handle infusions really well.  I’d like to be one of those people, but sadly I’m not.

I make jokes about “(IV) pole dancing,” pack goodies to make the day easier (fuzzy blankie, chocolate), and have chicken/rice soup waiting for me in the crock pot when I get home.  Still, it’s pretty awful. I tried to be human last night but gave up around 7pm when the alien was trying to burst out of my skull.  It took hours for the pain to let up enough for me to sleep, and then only fitfully.

Fifteen hours later finds me still in bed.  The alien is napping now and I hope he stays quiet in my brain today during my full schedule of gastro symptoms and nausea.  I’m thinking of the household work that I should do as well as the “work” work I should do.  I’m also thinking I should attempt to shower at some point today.  I cautioned my husband “Don’t expect much.”

I already need a nap and am trying hard not to dwell on the fact that I get to do this all over again in 13 short days since I know that Round Two is always worse.  Whimper.

So yes, while I am grateful that these infusions are working and keeping my Relapsing Polychondritis quiet, I still whine when I feel awful.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Ramona permalink

    Praying for you,dear friend. Sorry I no longer live close enough to come over and help with the housework, because being able to do anything to help you would be a blessing to me.

    • You are truly the sweetest, Ramona dear. Thankfully, today has only gotten better. And I got two loads of laundry dry on the line!

Leave a Reply

