Skip to content

Thinking

October 23, 2016

I was at a church lunch today and we closed with communion.  I’ve taken communion my entire life, but today “This is my body, broken for you” kept bouncing in my head.

My body is breaking again and I am all-consumed with this failing body of mine.  Can I allow my body to break for others?  What good can it serve?  Can I glorify God through a broken body?  How can I contribute when I am not super-mobile and can’t be around a lot of germs?

Yeah…. I’m just thinking.

From → Uncategorized

3 Comments
  1. Carole Henell permalink

    You are a blessing in so many ways! Praying you get some relief soon !quil

    • The weather actually gave me a break today, giving me hope that I’ll have days that are less rotten instead of “all bad, all the time, and only getting worse.” This is a huge encouragement to me!

  2. Carole Boshart permalink

    I’ve had those thoughts too, thinking “what can I do with my infirmities?” I started thinking about that years ago when my hearing started to go. Over the years I have thought enough about it, and thought it through. The short answer I found is that I can do a lot. The long answer is that there have been so many opportunities that have arisen, ways of “ministering” that would not be open to me if I was a “normally healthy” person. And I know that more ways will arise; at some point I would like to go into chaplaincy work. But that is my path. I know you have, and will have, your own path. Just remain open to the possibilities! Shalom!

Leave a Reply

