Skip to content

Big Day

October 7, 2016

Today is a big day, but in a really normal way.  We’re having a few family members over for dinner tonight to celebrate a birthday.  The presents are wrapped.  I’m cooking a family favorite meal.  This is pretty normal, or so I thought.

Here’s my day:

  • 8am.  Wake up and get ready to go to the grocery store.
  • 9am.  Tell myself it’s really time to get out of bed and get ready to go to the grocery store.
  • 10am.  Arrive at grocery store, along with every other resident of my town.
  • 10:30 am  Meet the nicest cashier in the world!  He emptied my cart for me so I never had to make my weak arms lift too-heavy grocery items onto the belt.  I think I kind of love him
  • 11 am.  Realize that I need to go to the “other” “crazier” “busier” store to finish my shopping.  Note that I only need ice cream.  Realize that our gas station/convenience store/dairy has their own (very delicious and most coveted) brand of ice cream.  Drive there instead.  Another huge problem solved!
  • 12pm.  Arrive at my house, wondering how all of the very heavy groceries are going to leave my car, walk themselves up a flight of stairs, and put themselves away in my refrigerator.  Dilemma:  I can barely lift and barely walk stairs — do I try to carry heavier loads to walk fewer flights?   Or do I carry lighter loads and walk more flights of stairs?  Trick question, because there is no good answer
  • 3pm.  There are still some groceries in my car, but at least all of the one requiring refrigeration have been put away.  Sadly, I still need to clean the house a bit, put away the laundry (more stairs!), and actually cook.
  • 7pm.  My estimated bedtime tonight.  This conflicts with the estimated time of the guests arriving (cough*7pm*cough).
From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

