Skip to content

100 Acts of Love: Number 1

July 16, 2016

The news is on and once again I simply can’t breathe from the pain.  The loss of life is devastating and the reaction is “I’m right and you are wrong” and “my side is better than your side” and “those people” and hate and hate and hate.  It seems selfish to worry that the stress of these horrifying events will make me sick, but the reality is, the stress of these events will make me sick.

I am too overwhelmed with sadness to react with anger.  I have no anger left.  I can only weep.  Since weeping does no good, I decided that when I don’t know what to do, I’ll respond with tangible acts of love.  I’m searching for every instance of love in the Bible and trying to find an act to match.

Genesis 27:4
And make me savoury meat, such as I love, and bring it to me, that I may eat; that my soul may bless thee before I die.

So Isaac love to eat savoury meat and wanted his son to bring him some before he died.

My questions:
Do I know anyone who loves to eat a specific food?
Can I cook or buy or send a bit of love to someone this week?

My answer:
It is summer in New York and I don’t have air conditioning.  Cooking is a bit of a challenge when the inside temperatures are above 90*F and we have been eating takeout for a few weeks now.  I’ve been waiting for the weather to change and hoping to find the right person to cook the right food for, but with the vicious attack in Nice yesterday and the coup in Turkey, I needed to do something other than cry.  I broke down, found what food was in the house, and cooked it for my husband.  Curry, rice, and steamed vegetables.  The curry was too salty and I totally let the vegetable pot steam dry (oops!), but I made food for my husband because I love him.  This was one night that he didn’t have to stop for takeout on the way home.  The love has to start somewhere and I started at home.

Your job:  Love one another.  Whoever you can.  However you can.

 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Carole Boshart permalink

    Tangible solution. Do you have a crock pot? If not, buy one. In the morning when you have the most energy prep some food and put it in the crock pot on low. By the time supper comes, your food will be ready to eat – nothing else to prepare. There are many recipes for all kinds of things that are simply delicious done in a crock pot. All day long the smell will gently waft through the household, like love on a warm simmer. Clean up is easy. Just soak the crock pot (the pot, not the warming implement) in warm sudsy water for 30 minutes. Your reference to Genesis made me think of it, however I have used crock pots to make home cooked meals when I have to be at work all day. Let me know if you would like other yummy but easy to prepare food items. I’ve got a mental store house of them! Bon appetit!

    • I’m actually a great cook, adore my crock pot, and rarely eat takeout. When the temps hit 90*F indoors, though, all of that ends. I have low energy from the RP and the heat/humidity just suck the rest of my life away. Yes, that’s what I sound like when I whine. I’m REALLY GOOD AT IT!

Leave a Reply

