Skip to content

Sick and Tired

March 23, 2016

I am sick of being tired.  I am tired of being sick.  I’m not referring to Relapsing Polychondritis; I’m referring to the multitiude of bacteria and viruses that I am exposed to (and catch!) because my immune system is compromised due to the drugs I take for RP.

I spent several weeks in December dealing with a random sinus/lung infection.  I got sick at Valentine’s Day and suffered for three. solid. weeks.  I was still dealing with the “lingering cough” when BAM! I got sick again.

I was out of town last week in an area with a high pollen warning.  My head was stuffy, but I blamed the pollen.  Last night, as I suddenly felt as if I were hit by a truck, I realized that I am once again sick.

I feel awful.  Coughing.  Sneezing.  Aching.  No one wants to feel like this.  I, however, have an infusion treatment scheduled for Monday and can’t have the infusion if I’m sick.  To rephrase:  I am on drugs to suppress my immune system that make me get sick easier and then keep me from taking the drugs to suppress my immune system.  It’s a sick and twisted merry-go-round.

So, if you a sort who prays, please pray that I recover quickly and am in shape to have my infusion on Monday.  If you need me between now and then, I’ll be sacked out on the sofa watching Netflix, coughing and sneezing and napping and whining.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Gotcha covered in prayer

  2. Carole Boshart permalink

    For many years (hindsight is a kicker) I marveled that people around me got sick and I didn’t. I thought “my immune system is kickbutt!” Yeah, but now I realize the butt it was kicking was mine! My immune system was kicking everything around, including me! Attacking me while it was attacking the viruses that got in me. I was pretty cold resilient but was paying the price. And you are one the other end of the spectrum – needing to suppress your immune system so it does not attack you, but leaving you vulnerable to every little thing that trips down the way. Neither of us are winning at this game. I shudder when I stop to think what RP is doing to my organs, so I don’t stop and think about it much. And I did catch a cold recently – but it came and went in three days. I thought at first it was a sinus flare, until I was able parse out the symptoms from what is a normal sinus flare. My husband caught the cold too, and one week later he is still suffering symptoms. Karma is a butt kicker too!
    Yes, praying for relief for you – just for relief’s sake. And praying that you are well enough to get the infusion that you need. And that you will come into a time of relative health – I know you had that and hoping it comes back!

Leave a Reply

