Skip to content

Well, This Settles That

March 3, 2016

I am a middle-aged overweight woman.  Not a little overweight, but carrying A LOT of extra weight.

Many people flat out ask me if I got Relapsing Polychondritis because I was fat and out of shape.  After I overcame the urge to punch them in the throat, I politely answered that there is no explanation for why a person’s immune system breaks.  It is still a mystery.

Well… I just learned than an Ironman Triathlete just was diagnosed with RP.  He’s not overweight nor is he out of shape.  Poor fella.

This disease doesn’t spare anyone.  Men, women, very young children, even super-athletes.

From → Uncategorized

One Comment
  1. Carole Boshart permalink

    Thank you for telling us an Ironman triathlete has RP. You are right, that news does silence all those insensitive sorts who think that extra weight equals disease prone. Since being diagnosed with Meniere’s and then RP, I have been losing weight. Getting closer to my college weight and size. If I wasn’t so sick, I’d probably very healthy for my age. So sad!

Leave a Reply

