Skip to content

Sweet Relief

November 11, 2015

I had my infusion treatment on Monday.  Phew!  I was worried it would have to be rescheduled due to an infection. A quick course of antibiotics and I was good to go.

The treatment went as smoothly as possible.  My super-hero nurse gave an excellent stick in a very difficult vein.  (Two days later and not a hint of a bruise!) I dropped into a deep sleep for about 4 hours, waking only to have vitals taken.  I was able to drive myself home and was groggy until about 6pm when the sleepy drugs wore off and the steroids kicked in.  “No more sleep for you, EVER!” they screamed, mocking me.  I tried to catch a few ZZZs around  midnight and all went well until about 3am when I discovered that heartburn is a common side effect of this medication.  Since nothing about Relapsing Polychondritis can ever be normal, this wasn’t normal heartburn.  This was heartburn that left me wondering how long I could survive without eating or drinking, since even thinking about swallowing anything at all made me cry. Fortunately the heartburn has calmed down a bit today.  I’m being gentle with my food and drink, but I once again believe I shall live.

In 12 short days, I get to do this again.  Whee!  (O, sarcasm font, where art thou?)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

