Skip to content

Stark Reality

June 4, 2015

I know I have a disease.  I deal with the daily pains, worries, medications, and medical treatments that come with it.  I’m able to divide my mind, though, and not dwell on the “I have a disease that can kill me” thoughts.

Today I watched this short film about Relapsing Polychondritis.  (Sorry, it would let me embed the video.  You’ll have to click through.)  I watched it while trying to get some work done.  BIG MISTAKE.  Normally stoic, I am a big soggy mess of tears right now.  Hearing other people describe this disease was shocking.  They didn’t say anything that I didn’t already know, but wow; this is real and it hit me hard today.

Watching the video I am also grateful.  I basically presented a classic case of Relapsing Polychondritis and was able to google my symptoms, find an answer, call a doctor and get a diagnosis.  It really was that quick for me.  Countless others are not so blessed and suffer for years without diagnosis or treatment while their health deteriorates.

I also have hope.  The more information about this disease that hits the internet and journals, the more chance that doctors and researchers will find it fascinating and work to find effective treatments.

I’m now going back to my puddle for the rest of the afternoon.  I have a good supply of tissues and chocolate.  I’ll be just fine.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

