Skip to content

Fair Warning

April 26, 2015

Before I started this journey with Relapsing Polychondritis, I worried about normal things like losing weight.

Thanks to my new treatments, I’m now healthy enough to be able to concentrate on trying to lose weight again.  I’m trying to be smart / sane / healthy about it but it is every bit as hard as I remember.  I can’t do the absolutes that a lot of folks do:  “Go to the gym for at least an hour five days a week.”  Well, I’m not always home because of work and some days my illness makes just getting in the car an ordeal.  “Expect to lose 1-2 pounds a week.”  Well, some medications help me gain weight (so helpful, right?).  “Get a FitBit and walk 10,000 steps a day.”  Some days I’m happy to be able to walk a single flight of stairs.

Instead, I’m doing better.  Can I exercise a little? If so, yay!  If not, tomorrow is another chance to do it.  Did I lose weight this week?  No?  I can keep making good choices and trust that they are helping me to be as healthy as possible.

What I am doing:  No soda, exercise as I can (walking, bicycling, a silly exercise video from the library), and eating food that looks the way it did when it was grown.  Pretty basic stuff.

So, if you know me in person, be warned:  I’m trying not to be that crazy “I’m losing weight” person, but she might just show up periodically.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

