Skip to content

NO!

February 21, 2015

No no no no no no no No No No No No NO NO NONO!!!!!!!!

The Relapsing Polychondritis community lost someone tonight.  I only knew her online, yet I’m devastated.

This woman was a kind and loving soul who generously cared for the rest of us who have this disease.

I hate this disease.  I hate that it kills people.  It’s not fair.

Today is not a fun day for me personally.  I’m not feeling well (recovering from a treatment and the never-ending winter is hurting my bones) and I’m dealing with a few family issues.  I really didn’t need a reminder today that Relapsing Polychondritis is a disease that kills and doesn’t play favorites.

But there it is.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Carole Boshart permalink

    I think about the aches and pains – the little ones and the big ones; the days when it is hard to cope and the up hill battle; problems breathing and moving and just generally trying to live my life when it is a giant groan. And I forgot that this is also deadly stuff. I forget that it could take my life, and I blot out the fact that it has taken the lives of others. So maybe it is not so bad, the bad days. And I can be thankful for the good days. And I can be thankful that I know there will be days to come, good or bad. Because quite honestly, we can either live with this thing. Or we can not be living. And as bad as the days get, and some days have been really bad, I’m not ready to give up the fight. There is still a good bit of fight left me in fact! I hope your tomorrow is better dear anonymous friend. Take care.

    • Carole, I have been sick enough that I’m forever grateful for the little things. I think, though, that in my head I’m still in denial about this disease. I deal with the daily details and ignore the big picture
      — this disease kills. A beautiful woman lost her battle last night and I’m shocked, horrified, saddened, and ANGRY.

Leave a Reply

