Skip to content

Nesting

August 8, 2014

Way back, a few decades ago, when I was having babies I read about how some moms-to-be “nested” before they gave birth.  They cleaned and arranged and made sure everything was perfect in the days leading up to the birth of their baby.

I am not pregnant.  I repeat:  I AM NOT PREGNANT!

but…

I am nesting.

In the last week or two, I have been cleaning, organizing, giving away, and throwing away when necessary (canned soup from 2002 anyone?).  My house looks pretty great now, and I plan to continue if I’m able.

I’m trying to figure out if I’m preparing for being sicker, preparing for the new medication to make me sicker, or preparing to be poor when my husband loses his job (read: things are quite uncertain and I’m on his medical insurance).

Upside of this effort:

  • my house will look great and if I end up feeling poorly, it will be a comfort to me and I won’t feel guilty for not cleaning
  • my house will look great and if my husband loses his job and we have to sell the house, we will be a little bit prepared
  • my house will look great and if my health improves and hubby keeps his job, we will just enjoy a great-looking house (as well as great health and company-sponsored health insurance)!

Downsides of this effort:

  • (crickets)

Let the nesting continue!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

