Skip to content

One At A Time

July 17, 2014

I spent the last 13 days in the UK — Birmingham and London, specifically.  I worked in Birmingham and then had a few days of vacation in London.  I was concerned about all of the walking I would have to do in the city.  I budgeted extra cash for taxi cab fares if I couldn’t handle all of the walking.

Fortunately, I didn’t need to take a taxi even once (other than airport runs with luggage).  I walked a lot.  A Lot.  I have blisters on my blisters to prove it.  My husband wears a FitBit.  He was hitting 20,000 steps a day.  My legs are shorter than his so I figured I was logging in at 22,000 a day or so.

There are a lot of stairs in London, so I was grateful that I was feeling well.  Every time I stood at the bottom of a flight, I was grateful to be able to walk up them and remembered all of the times that I would want to curl into a ball and weep at the thought of climbing  stairs.

I climbed stairs in a castle:

20140706_144501

I climbed stairs in the Natural History Museum:

IMG_1416[1]

 

I climbed stairs in the subway:

IMG_1371[1]

In the British Museum, they warned visitors about the stairs:

IMG_1457[1]

This warning came after you were halfway up, so I’m not sure how effective the warning was.

From time to time, I have a 24-hour period pain, stiffness, and fatigue.  I’ve learned to take some Tylenol, not push myself, and keep on going until it ends. I had one of these days on my trip and still climbed the stairs.

With the nasty ear flares I had before I left, I was popping prednisone like candy.  Now that I’m home, I’m working to taper the dosages down.

I had a great trip, overall I felt about 90%, and I didn’t use my cane at all.  I had a good week, and oh, by the way, I WAS IN THE UK! seeing buildings that were over 1,000 years old.  I also had my photo taken crossing Abbey Road, which is a little more recent.  I’d show the photo if this weren’t an anonymous blog.

I may have RP, but I am one lucky lady.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

