Skip to content

RP in the Middle East

March 29, 2014

I am packing to fly home from Dubai and am absolutely exhausted.  This has little to do with RP and a lot to do with very long, busy work hours and very short, unsatisfying sleeping hours.

I brought my cane with me, just in case the travel was too much and I started to fall down.  So far, Candy (my cane) has stayed packed away and I’m feeling quite well.  I’m taking higher doses of steroids to combat this ear flare and staying on them for the next few weeks.  My body will be under major stress during that time and I just want to prevent another flare up.

What major stress?  I fly home from Dubai on Monday and fly to Australia on Sunday for another long, grueling week of work.  Just to let new folks know, I live in the States and these are ridiculously long flights:  Dubai to NY is a 14-15 hour flight without a layover (I have a 7 hour layover in Paris), and NY to Australia is 23 hours without a layover (I have a long layover in LAX).  I will hopefully keep feeling fine and hopefully be able to lower my dosages once my body stays in a single time zone and sleeps in a bed rather than in airplanes and airports.

This trip has been life-changing.  I was a little nervous traveling to the Middle East for the first time, but I would do this again in a heartbeat!!

Like my blog title says, life with Relapsing Polychondritis is an adventure.  For me, for now, it’s a grand adventure that I am so grateful that I am healthy enough to enjoy!

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Carole Boshart permalink

    I am glad to hear that you had a good trip. And that you are looking forward to the next one. I do wonder though if you have a good support group. It occurs to me that you have said much about what you go through, but very little about yourself. I re-read one of you entries from about a year and a half back and you said you were slowly telling people that you have RP. I am glad that your health is on the upswing, and I hope it continues to be that way. Blessings on your next trip and save travel! Carole B

  2. nolongeraboutme permalink

    Carole,
    You are so sweet to worry about me. Most people who know me in real life know that I have RP. I have great friends and a wonderful medical team. I’m only anonymous online for professional reasons.

Leave a Reply

