Skip to content

The JOY of Food Poisoning

October 22, 2013

A month ago, I had a series of doctor appointments.  There were some less than ideal outcomes that day.

One problem was that I was having problems with my bladder/kidneys.  I’ve been re-tested and this is not resolved, but it is not a major issue for today.  I will have more bladder/kidney tests in the future.  I have been cleared by a urologist but will probably make friends with a nephrologist in the future.  This is a worry for another day.

Another problem that day was that the doctor wanted me to take steroids.  I have been fighting against this for a year.  We agreed that I would try a two-week course and see if the steroids helped my swallowing difficulties.  I took the steroids and they did not help my swallowing, so I tapered off of the drugs.  Sadly, on the day I was to take the last steroid pill, my Relapsing Polychondritis flared up from the stress the food poisoning put on my body.  I am back on a short course of steroids, but already starting to taper off of them.  I have had a bone density test and before steroids, my bones are in great shape.  I hope to stay off steroids as much as possible to keep my bones healthy.

Another problem that day was that my doctor wanted me to start physical therapy.  I have the prescription for that but have not gone.  I have not been home to do so.  I might agree to go for a short while, but I still haven’t decided.

The last problem, and most severe, is one I am still not prepared to talk about.  Our plan was to make a few small lifestyle changes and wait one month to re-test.  This is a BIG! SCARY! problem and I was not sure how I would survive for a month, waiting for another test.  God blessed (?) me with severe and voilent food poisoning.  That took my mind off of this problem for two weeks.  Food poisoning is an immediate and all-consuming illness.  Every thought, word, and deed for two weeks dealt with my food poisoning and nothing else.  I didn’t even once think about this problem lurking in the background.  Fortunately, the food poisoning has been resolved.  I am feeling mostly fine (I still tire easily) and am eating mostly everything (no greasy or spicy foods or dairy).  This is good news.  The bad news is that my big! scary! problem is now back in the front of my mind.

I will be re-tested tomorrow morning and should get results the same day.  If all goes well, I will write a “I am so thankful that all is well” post.  If I flunk this test again, more tests will be scheduled.  If I fail them all, my life will change significantly.  My disease will make this new problem difficult to treat and the treatments for this new problem will make my disease worse.  Relapsing Polychondritis was scary because it was unknown.  This new problem is scary because I know quite a bit about it — and I really don’t want to deal with the diagnosis or treatment.

I am obviously hoping that tomorrow’s tests show that the problem has resolved itself.  Today is going to be a long, long day.  If you are the sort who prays, please pray for me over the next 24 hours or so.  Pray for peace today, a good outcome tomorrow, and peace to endure if things go badly.

I will spend today hoping that we can celebrate together tomorrow.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

