Skip to content

Preparing my Heart

October 22, 2013

I was consumed with food poisoning for two weeks and am now two weeks behind on my Bible study homework.  I am working furiously to catch up, but I’ll still be behind tonight.  I strongly dislike not being prepared for class.  (how old am I?)

My Bible study is on Daniel and I was reading Daniel’s praise when God revealed Nebuchadnezzar’s dream.

Daniel 2:20-23

“Praise be to the name of God for ever and ever;
wisdom and power are his.
He changes times and seasons;
he sets up kings and deposes them.
He gives wisdom to the wise
and knowledge to the discerning.
He reveals deep and hidden things;
he knows what lies in darkness,
and light dwells with thim.
I thank and praise you, O God of my fathers;
You have given me wisdom and power,
you have made known to me what we asked of you,
you have made known to use the dream of the king.”

This is exactly how I felt when I woke up those first few days, no longer suffering acutely from food poisoning.  I was bursting into spontaneous praise for what God had done by healing me.

As I was thinking about this, I wonder what my response will be tomorrow should the tests results be positive.

I recall Habakkuk 3:17-19.

Though the fig tree does not bud
and there are no grapes on the vines,
though the olive crop fails
and the fields produce no food,
though there are no sheep in the pen
and no cattle in the stalls,
yet I will rejoice in the Lord,
I will be joyful in God my Savior.
The Sovereign Lord is my strength;
he makes my feet like the feet of a deer,
he enables me to go on the heights.

These verses will carry me through tomorrow, whatever the outcome may be.

 

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

