Skip to content

Discovering Joy in the World

October 10, 2013

My job requires me to travel a lot.  I can recognize a hotel chain by the carpeting and can spout off airport codes easier than my bank passwords.  My husband and I recently had a debate about how many continents I have been to, because I insisted that Russia was in Europe and he said it was in Asia.  Leave your vote on that in the comments, but only if you agree with me!

As of last night, I had visited or worked in 38 of the 50 United States.  Today, though, I upped my total to 39 because I am in North Dakota!  

Getting here was difficult.  It involved a very early wakeup, a brisk run through the Detroit airport to immediately board my next flight, a mechanical delay, a RUN (with a cane) through Minneapolis to board the flight they were holding for me, and a longish walk to my rental car here in North Dakota.  I took a 3-hour nap this afternoon and am ready for bed again.

One of my seatmates this morning suggested that I drive from the airport directly to a restaurant for an Elk Sandwich, so I did.  It was pretty yummy!  I also drove on the Lewis and Clark trail today.  

I will be here through Monday, and hope to learn many new things and have many new experiences.

God has created a beautifully diverse world, and I am tickled to still be well enough to have adventures in it.  

Take THAT, Relapsing Polychondritis.  You haven’t won yet!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

