Skip to content

Joy wore Running Shoes

October 2, 2013

Or at least walking shoes.

This is my last “at home” day for a few weeks, so I decided to start the day with some Bible reading and a walk to enjoy the beginning of autumn.

My pastor has issued a 40 day challenge of Bible study and prayer.  Today’s Bible reading was from James 1

Consider it pure joy, my brothers, whenever you face trials of many kinds, because you know that the testing of your faith develops perseverance.  Perseverance must finish its work so that you may be mature and complete, not lacking anything.

Does this sound familiar?

As my pink cane and I walked in the cool fall morning, I thought about what joy meant in that Bible reading.  When I got home, I looked up joy in the dictionary and it has many synonyms:  beatitude, blessedness, bliss, blissfulness, felicity, gladness, happiness, warm fuzzies.

I am not a Biblical scholar, but I don’t believe that James is telling us to feel warm fuzzies when we face trials.  Joy has to mean so much more. I  am, by nature, optimistic.  One of my favorite books is Pollyanna and I have played her “glad game”.  I am full of gratitude most of the time.  I think that is a great start, but I hope to have a better understanding of joy by the end of this month.

I have found joy in some disappointment today:  I was supposed to meet with a new friend.  We know each other from Facebook and were looking forward to some in-person time.  Last night she told me that she wasn’t feeling well and was worried about getting me sick, since I have a compromised immune system.  I am sad that I won’t get to meet with her today, but overjoyed that this new friend cared enough about me to remember how vulnerable I am to germs.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

