Skip to content

Not So Simple Anymore

September 24, 2013

I am 44 years old and I have never had a cavity.  My teeth aren’t the most beautiful teeth, but they have been free of trouble.

That’s changing.

I had a routine cleaning today and spoke with the dentist.  He was asking about my disease and medications.  He has, of course, never heard of Relapsing Polychondritis, but he knows about the medications that I am taking.

The immunosuppressant that I take causes dry mouth.  He told me how to increase saliva production during the day, but told me that the problems occurred at night.  I am now likely to have teeth and gum problems.

Since I am now taking steroids, I am vulnerable to other problems that he described but I cannot really remember.  They had something to do with the bones under the teeth?

I am now going to become a super-brusher, a super-flosser, and a super-swisher.  I will also visit my dentist more frequently.  I apparently don’t have enough medical appointments already.

I am tempted to throw my hands up in the air and scream “Why bother?”  This disease attacks many parts of my body.  All of the body parts that the disease misses, the side-effects from the drugs hit.

I am trying to be a trooper, but it is hard sometimes.  When I convince myself that I can handle what this disease is bringing next, something unexpected will happen — like a leak in the house or a dead computer or an unrelated medical issue.  Or all three at once.

ENOUGH!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

