Skip to content

A Little Less Excited

July 22, 2013

Yesterday at church I remembered how much I enjoyed sitting with the babies at Vacation Bible School on Friday.   I travel often for my job and I treasure the weeks I am able to attend church, but thought I could give up an occasional Sunday to sit in the nursery.  This plan was forming in my mind and I was smiling.

As I was driving home from church, I remembered that I am on immunosuppressants and that I get sick easily.  Darn you, Relapsing Polychondritis!  Do you have to spoil everything?

I am so grateful that I didn’t get sick from last week’s exposure to hundreds of children.

I am sad that my disease will keep me from hanging out with groups of babies.

I will trust that God will find another way use me.

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Dale permalink

    I often used to feel the same way when my child was young. Seemed she always had a good buddy with runny nose, coughing, you get the image. Anyway, to my knowledge, I only got sick maybe 1 time during all those years. I was lucky enough to have an awesome Indian doctor for my child who just routinely gave me a prescription because he knew my immune system was compromised along w/my child’s “just in case” I got whatever the illness was.

  2. nolongeraboutme permalink

    Sadly, I was sick most of my first winter on immunosuppressants. No cold or flu bug could pass me by. I stopped shaking hands or touching people at all. I’m doing great this summer, but volunteering to babysit in the winter is a scary proposition.

Leave a Reply

