Skip to content

One way I “Do It Anyway”

June 25, 2013

Rainy days are difficult for me. I ache and have no energy. Today I fell asleep at my desk about an hour before a series of storms rolled past my mountain. Let me expand on that: I fell asleep at my desk with my fingers on my computer keyboard with an open message window to my husband. Late this afternoon he received a message that looked a lot like this:

………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………………….

I will say he was confused and leave it at that.

I have much to do and had absolutely no energy to continue. Calling it quits at 4:30 pm was not a good option for me. When willpower fails, I choose tricks. One of my tricks is called YouTube therapy.

We do not have television. No broadcast reaches my home on the mountain and we elect not to pay for cable television. We do have high-speed internet so I can watch YouTube (free), Netflix (paid subscription), and Hulu (free). I try not to spend much time doing this, but I was desperate today.

I pulled up an episode of a funny television show on my computer and listened to it for 22 minutes and tidied my office. This show is one of the few shows that I enjoy and I only allow myself to listen to it while I am cleaning. I started clearing a shelf in my office, lacking energy and enthusiasm, but continued cleaning for all 22 minutes just so I could listen to the entire show.

I wanted to click on the next show, but after that one show I was awake and alert enough to continue my tasks.

Today will not go down in history as the most productive day ever, but I didn’t quit trying at 4:30 pm. That is worth celebrating.

PS — I smile every time I see my nicely organized bookshelf.

(Note — after I hit “publish”, WordPress let me know that this was my 100th post. That’s worth celebrating, too. Happy blog-a-versary to me!)

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

