Skip to content

Adventures in Juicing

May 17, 2013

Yesterday, I had a talk with my daughter about my disease.  She worries about me.  I told her that I was doing really well.  I said, “Nine months ago, I had no idea what the future would be like for me.  How I am feeling now was my ‘best case scenario’.  I am very blessed.”

“You have worked hard on getting well,” she told me.

That stopped me for a time.  I have worked hard!  I have gone to all of the doctor appointments, lessened my stress, made rest a priority, taken a bunch of medications, undergone nasty tests and procedures, explored alternative medicines, enlisted a support team, maintained a mostly positive attitude, and committed to eating healthily and exercising.  I am certain that all of these actions have contributed to my improved health.  I also know that I could have done all of these things and still deteriorated.  This is a disease — an insidious, surprising, awful disease — and it will have its way with me.

Evening knowing that my health can turn sideways at any time, I am enjoying my relative well-being.  I am celebrating it.

This morning, I celebrated by going to the gym and coming home to a healthy breakfast.

blog1

This does not look like a doughnut, does it?

I did not eat a salad for breakfast; I drank these vegetables.

blog3

The fun and funky glass was a gift from one of my oldest and dearest friends.  It says “BFF” all over.  It is a tacky and hideous glass, and I drink from it every day with a smile!

I took the leftover veggies (spinach, carrot, celery, zucchini) and started some lentil/veggie soup for dinner:

blog2

I am sure this will taste great!

I took the leftover fruits (orange, apple, and ginger) and made some fruity muffins, throwing in some of the last of last year’s raspberries from the freezer.

blog4

Truly delightful!

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

