Skip to content

Checking In

April 25, 2013

I have been traveling non-stop for weeks.  I have had good days and I have had merely OK days.

I am currently in Australia.  I survived the super-long trip.  I mostly adjusted to the 14-hour time difference and went to work.

My first day teaching at the conference was ah-ma-zing.  The venue was incredible.  As a speaker, I was treated like a queen.  The students were enthusiastic.  I was prepared and everything went well.

I left the conference at the end of Day 1, walked outside, and landed face-first on the sidewalk.  A very handsome Australian man and my also-very-handsome husband came to my assistance, so it was not a complete disaster.  I banged up my knee, scraped my elbows and hands, and bruised my ego.  I am so grateful that I did not actually hit my face and that I did not sustain any serious injuries.

Grateful, yes, but I had been doing so well!  My cane had been folded in my purse for several weeks and only used once during that time.  I really did not want to use it, but I did spend Days 2 and 3 at the conference using my cane.  I was petrified that I would fall again.

By day 4 of the conference, I remembered that I promised to “Do It Anyway” so I gave myself the “get back on that horse” speech and folded up the cane.  I am happy to report that on Day 8, I am still not using the cane.  I am completely exhausted from working this many days straight, but I am still upright.  I am being extremely cautious because being tired usually means being face-down on the sidewalk.  The cane is with me at all times, but so far staying in the bag.

I do have another item to share:  I am in Australia and have seen koalas and kangaroos.  How cool is that?

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

