Skip to content

Dancing with Myself

March 30, 2013

I don’t dance, with myself or otherwise, but I am did argue with myself this morning.  Arguing with oneself is never a good idea because one always loses.  (One also always wins, but that is beside the point.)

Yesterday was a hard, hard day.  I was feeling poorly and suffering with a good deal of pain.  Falling asleep was difficult and staying asleep was not possible.  I was awake fairly early this morning and tempted to stay in bed, watch Pride and Prejudice, and pamper myself a bit.  My other option, as I saw it, was to get up and go about my business.

This argument lasted about 10 minutes, and I finally got out of bed.

I went to the gym and heard more about Bilbo’s adventures while walking a few miles on the treadmill.  I picked up a few items at the market.  I met a friend and returned a kitchen appliance she had lent me.  When I returned home, I baked and decorated my son’s birthday cake.  I tidied up the kitchen.  I showered, dressed, and put away yesterday’s laundry.  I went to my office to catch up on some work that remained unfinished yesterday.

In essence, I lost the argument.  Staying in bed watching Pride and Prejudice would have been a fine way to spend a lazy Saturday morning.

I am continuing with my business today, ignoring the pain as best I can.  Pride and Prejudice just might be playing in the background of today’s activities.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

