Skip to content

When Comfort Foods Don’t Comfort

March 29, 2013

Today is not my favorite day ever.  I have enjoyed three days of “pretty good” and I guess I was due for this day of “not so great.”

I can sum up the problem in one word:  Ow.

I think the tip of my ring finger on my left hand does not hurt, but that is the only non-painful place I can currently locate.

Being a pudgy gal, I have (obviously) relied on food for comfort and today is a day that I want to be comforted.  I have reached for many of my old favorites, but not touched a single one of them.

Diet Coke:  I love Diet Coke and Diet Doctor Pepper is even better.  The crisp taste!  The bubbles!  Alas, the soda will give me heartburn instantly, will keep me awake tonight, and make me puffy tomorrow.  I am not drinking Diet Coke.

Chocolate:  Do I even need to say that I love chocolate?  Recently, chocolate = heartburn and the caffeine in it keeps me awake.  No chocolate for me.

Salty snacks:  Oh for a potato chip, a Frito or (my personal kryptonite) a Cheezit.  Sigh.  I know that the salt will make me dizzy and puffy in fairly short order.

High-fat foods:  Burgers, cheesy things, fried foods!  I am on some heavy-duty drugs that, um…. well, they cause me a bit of distress.  Life is a delicate balance for me and these foods would upset this balance pretty much instantly.

Alchohol:  I never was much of a drinker, but I on occasion I love a glass of wine or a girly drink.  My chemo-type drugs are destroying my liver, so no alcohol for me again…  ever.

That pretty much exhausts my list of comfort foods.  I am a hurting gal today.  I am maxed out on my pain medication and my go-to self-medications are not going to do it for me.

What to do?

I think it is fitting that today is Good Friday.  Compared to the suffering of my Savior, my pain is insignificant.  And my comfort is here:

2 Corinthians 1
Praise be to the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of compassion and the God of all comfort, who comforts us in all our troubles, so that we can comfort those in any trouble with the comfort we ourselves receive from God. For just as we share abundantly in the sufferings of Christ,so also our comfort abounds through Christ. 

From → Uncategorized

2 Comments
  1. Praying for you, that your current suffering would be no longer than necessary and eased as quickly as possible.

  2. nolongeraboutme permalink

    Thanks.

Leave a Reply

