Skip to content

Fear not

March 24, 2013

According to Gallup, the top ten fears are:

  1. Snakes
  2. Speaking in public
  3. Heights
  4. Small spaces
  5. Spiders/insects
  6. Needles/getting shots
  7. Mice
  8. Flying on a plane
  9. Crowds
  10. Going to a doctor

Flying on a plane and speaking in public are not a problem for me; I travel and speak publicly for a living.  Small spaces are uncomfortable but not unbearable.  Spiders and insects are creepy, but not a major problem for me.  If I were afraid of doctors, needles, or getting shots, I would be in serious trouble!  I like mice just fine as long as they are not in my house.  Crowds are annoying, but that is just my opinion.

If you are keeping count, I just told you that I do not have 8 of the top 10 fears.

Confession:  I climb on whatever is handy and scream like a girl whenever I see a snake.  It is not a pretty sight.

Another confession:  I am nearly paralyzed by my fear of heights.  I get dizzy and sweat and leave my fingerprints on the arm of my unfortunate companion.

This week my husband and I are celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary.  We went to the Grand Canyon.  I thought it was a delightful idea.  Great scenery and a large canyon.  Colored rocks and stuff.  It never occurred to me that a large hole in the ground (one mile deep!) probably has an edge to it and that I might have to walk near that edge.  D’oh!

Remember my new philosophy Do It Anyway?

I did:

IMG_0907

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Reply

