Skip to content

Risk vs. Reward vs. Rain

March 16, 2013

I am on day 16 of an extended business trip.  I have been in 9 states and 2 countries so far.  I still have my own hair.  It is the little things…

This week has been busy hectic crazy.  I have worked, eaten, and slept.  That is about it.  I was concerned because this was my first big trade show since my health has deteriorated and I was not sure I could handle the physical strain.  Tomorrow is my last day, and I am still not sure if I am handling the physical strain.  I have been able to stay on my feet and work which is a good thing.  I love what I do and would hate to have to stop.

I have used my cane only on those days when the day outlasted me and then only in the evenings.  I consider that a raging success!  One of my biggest concerns was that as I saw my work colleagues, they would instantly know that I was sick and pity me.  That has not happened, so yay!

I learned something this week:  Each day I am punished or rewarded for the choices I made the day before.  Did I get enough sleep?  Drink enough water?  Have caffeine?  Over-exert myself?  If I am a good girl, the next day has a chance of being a good day!  If I am not a good girl, the next day is likely going to be difficult.  I hate having to make grown-up, delayed-gratification choices.  To quote Veruca Salt, I want it NOW!

Those grown-up choices matter unless, of course, it is raining.  Rain is a fair guarantee of a bad day.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

