Skip to content

My prayer

December 17, 2012

In an earlier blog post, I wondered what it meant to “in all things give thanks.”  I was able to give thanks for circumstances surrounding my illness, but not for my illness itself.  In time, I may indeed become thankful for my illness, but I will NEVER be thankful for the events in nearby Newtown, CT.

Since last week I have been weeping like so many others.  Every time I pray, I can only cry out to God, “Why?  Why oh why did those precious babies and their teachers have to die?”

This morning when I prayed, my first words were those of thanksgiving.  “Dear Lord, I am so thankful that you are God.  I am thankful that you are Mighty, All-Powerful, and Holy.”  I was surprised by my own prayer.  Thankful?  In the face of a tragedy like this?

I sat for a long time and wondered why I was thankful. After about an hour I realized that in this tragedy, the only thing I can be thankful for is that God is God.  Without Him seated on His throne, nothing matters.  Daily tasks, major plans — all meaningless unless God IS!

God, I do not understand, but I thank you that I can know that You ARE!  You are the One who gives comfort.  Be with those who mourn.  Help us all to carry on in the knowledge of Your presence and Your love.

From → Uncategorized

Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

